DCPC (also commonly known as simply CPC) stands for Driver Certificate of Professional Competence and is a qualification for professional LGV drivers. Legislation was introduced in September 2009 with the aim of improving and maintaining high standards of driving and road safety across Europe.

Under the European Union Directive, professional LGV drivers must hold their CPC in addition to their vocational driving licence.


All LGV drivers who undertake DCPC will hold a Driver Qualification Card (DQC) that they are able to show as proof of this training. Drivers must hold a DQC to be able to work for Eddie Stobart. Enforcement of the legislation means that drivers can be fined up to £1,000 for driving professionally without it. 


The “Initial Qualification”

New drivers must pass an initial DCPC qualification before driving for us professionally – this is also known as modules 2 and 4. Once complete, periodic training then allows drivers to keep up to date. The initial qualification is split into four parts:

  1. Theory test (split into multiple choice and hazard perception)
  2. Case studies (a series of 7 studies based on real-life situations)
  3. Practical test (driving ability)
  4. Vehicle safety demonstration (keeping vehicles safe and secure)


Read more about the initial qualification.

The DQC 

Once a driver completes their CPC and it’s been registered with the DVSA by the relevant training provider, drivers receive their Driver Qualification Card (DQC). This card is proof that drivers are compliant with DCPC and it is essential that it is kept with them when out on the road. Drivers can still potentially be given a £50 fixed penalty if stopped without one, even if they’ve completed their DCPC.

Periodic Training

All drivers must complete at least 35 hours of DCPC every 5 years on a continuous basis – this is what’s called periodic training. This is typically split into 5 courses that run for 7 hours at a time, so on average drivers receive training once a year. 

Each new 5 year period begins from the expiry date of a driver’s current DCPC qualification, and not from the date on which they reached the 35 hours minimum training requirement. Drivers of LGV vehicles only need to do 1 set of periodic training every 5 years.

Drivers can check your Driver CPC periodic training hours.


There are occasions when drivers are exempt from the DCPC legislation. Some of the more common situations are when the vehicle they drive is used:

  • by, or under the control of, the armed forces, civil defence, the fire service or forces responsible for maintaining public order
  • for non-commercial carriage of passengers or goods, for personal use
  • to carry materials or equipment to be used by the driver in the course of their work, provided that driving the vehicle is not the driver’s main activity
  • in the course of driving lessons for any person wishing to obtain a driving licence or a DCPC

Drivers in one of the above situations who now wish to work with Eddie Stobart, chances are they have been exempt from DCPC but will now require it.

More information about exemptions from DCPC.


Non-UK, EU and Third Country Licence Holders

Drivers can still get a DQC from the DVLA if they live or work in the UK, but they must also have a driving licence from non-UK, EU Member States or third countries such as:

  • Gibraltar
  • Guernsey
  • Iceland
  • Isle of Man
  • Jersey
  • Liechtenstein
  • Norway
  • Switzerland 

The key rule is that at least the last 7 hours of periodic training must have been completed in the UK. From then on, after doing 35 hours of periodic training in the UK, drivers get their DCPC qualification for the 5 year period. More information about non-UK licences.

Any questions?

If you have any questions about DCPC or you aren’t sure what you may or may not have as part of your LGV licence, please contact the recruitment team at and we’ll help you work out what you need to do next.

Alternatively, the GOV.UK website has a dedicated section about driving and learning to drive.